Underage DUI Pennsylvania—Juvenile DUI Arrest

Information on Underage DUI Convictions in PA

If you or your child has been arrested on charges of an underage DUI in PA, you are probably filled with worry and stress. An underage DUI is taken very seriously in Pennsylvania—there is a zero tolerance policy.

Even as an adult, at over 18 but still under 21, you face more serious consequences for a DUI than a person over the age of 21. Underage drinking is punishable as its own offense, but underage DUI is much more serious.

Should you or your child be convicted of an underage DUI, the penalties include mandatory minimum jail time, fines and a license suspension. This would make anyone’s life difficult. And as a young person on the brink of adulthood, it can have a very negative impact.

A DUI on your permanent record could cause problems like obtaining future employment, causing a high premium rate increase on car insurance, or making it impossible to get insurance at all. Further, a DUI could affect admission to college and/or receipt of any scholarships.

An underage DUI charge must be taken seriously and handled by a knowledgeable DUI attorney.

A DUI charge is not a conviction and is worth fighting.

You have rights and a good Pittsburgh DUI Attorney can help you understand those rights, protect them and help you avoid paying hefty fines and accepting penalties.

Our number one goal: Getting your DUI charges reduced or dismissed.

Call Ketchel Law today: 412-456-1221 for a free consultation.

If you or your child has been arrested, the first step you should take is to call a DUI Attorney.

BAC LEVEL AND UNDERAGE DUI IN PA

Anyone under the age of 21 who is caught driving under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance can be charged with an underage DUI. In fact, the standard for an underage driver is much stricter than a driver who is 21 or older.

In Pennsylvania, whether or not you are charged with a DUI is dependent upon your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC). DUI penalties are structured in a three-tier system that is based on the BAC of the offender. A driver who is at least 21 years of age must have a BAC of .08% or higher within two hours of having operated a vehicle in order to be charged with a DUI.

For a driver under the age of 21, they need only have a BAC of .02% or higher to be charged with a DUI. For many underage drivers, an amount less than a single beer could significantly impact their future.

If you have been charged with underage drinking, call Ketchel Law at 412-456-1221 and we will be happy to provide you with a free legal consultation.

PUNISHMENT FOR UNDERAGE DUI IN PENNSYLVANIA

If you are found guilty of a DUI as a minor, you will face the following penalties:

For a first offense, you will receive a mandatory minimum sentence:

  • 48 hours in jail
  • $500 fine
  • 12 month suspended license
  • Alcohol safety school and any alcohol/drug treatment program the court deems necessary

For a second offense, you will receive a mandatory minimum sentence of:

  • 30 days in jail
  • $750 fine
  • 12 month suspended license
  • Alcohol safety school and any alcohol/drug treatment program the court deems necessary

For a third offense, you will receive a mandatory minimum sentence of:

  • 90 days in jail
  • $1,500 fine
  • 18 month suspended license
  • Alcohol safety school and any alcohol/drug treatment program the court deems necessary

In addition, if you are underage and have more than one DUI, the offense is upgraded to a first-degree misdemeanor.

For a first-time underage DUI in Pennsylvania, there is the Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD) program, which removes the DUI conviction from your criminal record. However, you will need an experienced DUI lawyer who can aggressively pursue eligibility into this program for you.

Our number one goal: Getting your DUI charges reduced or dismissed.

Call Ketchel Law today: 412-456-1221 for a free consultation.

HOW A PITTSBURGH DUI LAWYER CAN HELP

The very serious consequences of an underage DUI requires the help of a knowledgeable and skilled DUI attorney. It will be invaluable in protecting your future and ensuring that you do not have to face this difficult situation alone.

Young people often do not always fully realize the seriousness of their choices—and the very harsh consequences their choices can have on their future. Justin Ketchel is an experienced DUI attorney who can give your child the best chance at preserving their future.

Don’t wait—call Justin Ketchel now at 412-456-1221 for a free consultation.

Justin’s extensive experience as a former public defender, and a criminal defense attorney in private practice, gives him a distinct advantage when handing DUI cases.

We will do everything we can to minimize your expenses. You are never charged for phone calls or emails and your initial consultation is always free. We understand what you are going through and will tirelessly fight on your behalf to ensure that your arrest has a minimal impact on every aspect of your life.

Call the law offices of Justin J. Ketchel at 412-456-1221 for a free legal consultation. We take your case seriously and are committed to providing quality legal advice.

Learn More About DUI Laws in Pennsylvania: